April 2, 2023

Dan Colella Named 2023 Richard E. Steadman Award Winner for doing his finest to unfold happiness in swimming and diving. Colella has been chosen by the Faculty Swimming and Diving Coaches Affiliation’s (CSCAA) Board of Administrators and shall be celebrated Could 8 on the 62nd Annual CSCAA Faculty Swimming and Diving Awards held in Orlando, Florida.

Dan has been a mainstay supporting the careers of swimmer-athletes and different coaches on pool decks for practically 40 years. He has spent the final 16 years constructing a nationally acknowledged workforce at Duke College.

Dan was a really particular individual, coach and pal. He beloved all the things about swimming and training, however most of all, he beloved relationships and competitors,” the longtime assistant coach recalled. Daybreak Kane. “He cared deeply about all his swimmers, colleagues and buddies. There was by no means a uninteresting day working with Dan… He was at all times enjoyable, whether or not on goal or not. He made among the best, most contagious laughs, particularly when he was laughing to himself. He will certainly be missed on pool decks in all places.”

The fifth head coach in program historical past, Colella has produced 64 CSCAA All-Individuals and 24 ACC convention champions. Duke has represented at every of the final 13 NCAA Championships, in addition to on the US Swimming Nationwide Championships, Olympic Video games, Olympic Trials, Pan American Video games, Pan Pacific Video games, World Championships, FINA World Championships, and World College Video games.

“From my first enlistment cellphone name with Dan in 2006 to my final go to simply days earlier than he handed away, he radiated kindness, dedication, authenticity, and real enthusiasm for all times,” he mentioned. Ashley Twitchell, Duke College, class of 2011. “She performed an enormous half in my swimming profession, not solely throughout my 4 years at Duke, but in addition within the years that adopted, with fixed checking in on the cellphone or in individual, with unwavering assist. . Dan believed in me greater than I believed in myself after the top of my school profession and inspired me to proceed swimming, for which I’m perpetually grateful. He valued his swimmers as folks, not as athletes, and the game of swimming turned higher due to him.”

The swimming group mourned Dan’s loss of life after a courageous battle with most cancers final December. Colella is survived by his spouse Victoria and their youngsters Henry, George, Ellinor and Caroline.

“Anybody fortunate sufficient to share time with Dan can show to him that teaching is far more than simply making swimmers quick. He has constructed lasting relationships and a group that individuals need to be part of,” mentioned CSCAA Govt Director Samantha Barany. We’re grateful for our time with Dan and are honored to honor him with this award on behalf of all the CSCAA membership. It is becoming to contemplate Dan as somebody who brings happiness to the folks round him with a sport he loves.

From 1986-90, Colella was assistant swim coach at Indian River Group Faculty in Fort Pierce, Fla., the place she guided her workforce to 4 NJCAA males’s and ladies’s championships. Colella got here to Duke after a profitable 12-year tenure as head coach of the ladies’s swimming program on the College of Tennessee. She began at UT in 1990 as an assistant girls’s swimming coach and served in that capability till she was promoted to move coach in 1993.

The Steadman Award is awarded yearly to a highschool, membership, or college-grade swimming or diving coach who, within the opinion of the Worldwide Swimming Corridor of Fame, the CSCAA Discussion board, and the CSCAA, does essentially the most to unfold happiness. Coach Steadman’s favourite swimming and diving sport.

CSCAA members can register for the 62nd Annual Conferences and Awards Celebrations at: www.cscaa.org/meetings. All registration features a ticket for the Awards Ceremony and After Celebration. Hard Rock Cafe, Universal CityWalk. Questions may be directed to: all@cscaa.org

Earlier CSCAA Recipients

2021 – Sam Kendricks, The Voice of Faculty Swimming
2021 – Dan Ross, Purdue College
2020 – Mike Rawleigh, Gettysburg Faculty
2019 – Barbara Jahn, UC-Davis
2018 – Cliff Devries, Rochester Institute of Expertise
2017 – Casey Converse, Air Pressure Academy
2016 – Erin Hurley, Grinnell Faculty
2015 – C. Rob Orr, Princeton College
2014 – Wally Morton, State of Cleveland
2013 – Nancy Bigelow, Tufts College
2012 – George Kennedy, Johns Hopkins
2011 – Harvey Humphries, Georgia
2010 – Jean Freeman, Minnesota
2009 – Peter Accardy, Cal State Northridge
2008 – Jim Richardson, Michigan, Cathy Wright-Eger, Purdue
2007 – Jim Ellis, Philadelphia Division of Non secular Affairs
2006 – Bob Pearson, Macalester Faculty
2005 – Anne Goodman James, Arkansas
2004 – Paula Miller, Ithaca Faculty
2003 – Tony Lisa, Rowan College
2002 – Bob Groseth, Northwest
2001 – John Mattos, State of Colorado
2000 – David Hauck, St. Olaf
1999 – Invoice Miller, Clarion College
1998 – Don Gambril, Alabama
1997 – Susan Bassett, William Smith
1996 – Invoice Campbell, Maryland
1995 – Archie Harris, State of Illinois
1994 – Charlie Butt, Bowdoin Faculty
1993 – Tim Welsh, Notre Dame
1992 – Donald R. Megerle, Tufts College

— The above press launch was revealed by Swimming World together with the CSCAA.. Please contact us to your press releases and commercial requests. Promoting@SwimmingWorld.com.

#CSCAA #Honors #Duke #Coach #Dan #Colella #Richard #Steadman #Award

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *